header
Barstow Community CollegeAcademic AffairsCareer & Technical EducationFKCEFKCE Class Schedule
FKCE FKCE Class Locations FKCE Current Class Catalog FKCE Current Class Schedule FAQ's
Office Hours:

Monday - Thursday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Closed on Friday & Holidays

Program Coordinator:
Elena Rivera
(760) 252-2411 x7276
erivera@barstow.edu

Program Secretary:
Evelyn Hawes
(760) 252-2411 x7376


Class Registration Line:
(760) 252-2411 x7376 and x7276
Fax Line: (760) 252-6798
Email: fkce@barstow.edu
Facebook www.facebook.com/fkce

FKCE CLASS SCHEDULE

For general information regarding workshops, please call 760-252-2411 x7376. All of the classes listed in this schedule meet the criteria for San Bernardino County’s emotional behavioral training and for Los Angeles County’s “D” rate training. All training must be selected based on the individual needs of the foster/kinship child. Please discuss any additional training issues with your Children and Family Services (CFS) worker or the Specialized Care Facilitator as needed. For Specialized Care Rate information for San Bernardino County, contact Elaine Bobadilla at 909-891-3621.

For a printable schedule, please click this link.

Date Start  End  Class Trainer Location
Thu, 08/23/18 9:30 AM 11:30 AM Cultural Competency in Foster and Kinship Care Dr. Sanders EHRC
Thu, 08/23/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM Educational issues: Life Goals & Child Success V. Montero AV Church
Thu, 08/23/18 6:00 PM 9:00 PM The Sexualized Child in Foster Care K. Carter EC 
Fri, 08/24/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Vicarious Trauma and Self-Care S. Lee ULV
Sat, 08/25/18 9:30 AM 3:30 PM Discapacidades y trastornos del aprendizaje  M. Gomez Hesp. Lib.
Mon, 08/27/18 8:30 AM 11:30 AM Navegar por la escuela con niños con necesidades especiales E. Rivera HUSD
Mon, 08/27/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM Estableciendo rutinas E. Rivera Foursquare
Tue, 08/28/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Anger Management for Teens E. Rivera CTE
Tue, 08/28/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Family Rules and Routines B. Cowley ULV
Tue, 08/28/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Foster Youth and Education  M. Gomez Oak Hills
Wed, 08/29/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM Back to School for Teens  (TEENS WELCOME) V. Montero VV Church
Thu, 08/30/18 9:30 AM 11:30 AM How Our Family History Impacts How We Parent Dr. Sanders EHRC
Thu, 08/30/18 6:00 PM 9:00 PM Caring for Sexualized Children K. Carter EC 
Fri, 08/31/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Parenting and ADHD S. Lee ULV
Tue, 09/04/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Disaster Preparedness B. Cowley ULV
Tue, 09/04/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM School Support M. Gomez Oak Hills
Thu, 09/06/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Scream Free Parenting Series #1 E. Rivera MCLB
Thu, 09/06/18 6:00 PM 9:00 PM Signs of Child Abuse K. Carter EC 
Fri, 09/07/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Understanding the System S. Lee ULV
Sat, 09/08/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM The Truth About Rape K. Carter EC 
Sat, 09/08/18 9:30 AM 3:30 PM Understanding the Cycle of Violence  V. Montero VV Church
Mon, 09/10/18 8:30 AM 11:30 AM Ayudando a su hijo a tener éxito en la escuela E. Rivera  HUSD
Mon, 09/10/18 10:00 AM 12:00 PM 1, 2, 3 Magic  V. Montero HH
Tue, 09/11/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Child Abuse Prevention B. Cowley ULV
Tue, 09/11/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM What to know about the IEP M. Gomez Oak Hills
Wed, 09/12/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM Establishing Routines E. Rivera NH
Thu, 09/13/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Scream Free Parenting Series #2 E. Rivera MCLB
Thu, 09/13/18 9:30 AM 11:30 AM Fatherhood Engagement Dr. Sanders EHRC
Thu, 09/13/18 6:00 PM 9:00 PM Healthy Sexual Development Project K. Carter EC 
Fri, 09/14/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Family Dynamics S. Lee ULV
Sat, 09/15/18 9:30 AM 3:30 PM Parenting a Child who has Experienced Trauma  M. Gomez  Hesp. Lib.
Mon, 09/17/18 8:30 AM 11:30 AM Crianza terapéutica E. Rivera  HUSD
Tue, 09/18/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Foster Parent Rights B. Cowley ULV
Tue, 09/18/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Teens and Depression (TEENS WELCOME) M. Gomez Oak Hills
Tue, 09/18/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM Teens and Peer Pressure (TEENS WELCOME) V. Montero VV Church
Wed, 09/19/18 11:00 AM 1:00 PM Child Abuse Dynamics and Mandated Reporting B. Cowley TYS
Thu, 09/20/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Scream Free Parenting Series #3 E. Rivera MCLB
Thu, 09/20/18 9:30 AM 11:30 AM Shaken Baby Syndrome Dr. Sanders EHRC
Thu, 09/20/18 6:00 PM 8:00 PM Meeting Development Needs V. Montero AV Church
Thu, 09/20/18 6:00 PM 9:00 PM Juvenile Court Process K. Carter EC 
Fri, 09/21/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Development of drug/alcohol exposed children S. Lee ULV
Sat, 09/22/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Raising our Children's Children K. Carter EC 
Sat, 9/22/18 2:00 PM 5:00 PM The Impact of Trauma on the Child in Care  M. Gomez FARE
Mon, 09/24/18 8:30 AM 11:30 AM Amor y lógica paternidad E. Rivera HUSD
Mon, 09/24/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM Reglas y consecuencias E. Rivera Foursquare
Tue, 09/25/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM The Role, Rights, and Responsibilies of Foster Parents E. Rivera CTE
Tue, 09/25/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Teen Moms B. Cowley ULV
Tue, 09/25/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Teaching Children Boundaries and Coping Skills M. Gomez Oak Hills
Wed, 09/26/18 11:00 AM 1:00 PM Child Abuse Dynamics and Mandated Reporting B. Cowley TYS
Wed, 09/26/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Amor y lógica paternidad M. Gomez Hesp. Lib.
Wed, 09/26/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM 1,2,3 Magic for Teens  (TEENS WELCOME) V. Montero VV Church
Thu, 09/27/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Scream Free Parenting Series #4 E. Rivera MCLB
Thu, 09/27/18 9:30 AM 11:30 AM Peaceful Parenting Dr. Sanders EHRC
Thu, 09/27/18 6:00 PM 9:00 PM Child Abuse and Mandated Reporter K. Carter EC 
Fri, 09/28/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Children and PTSD S. Lee ULV
Sat, 09/29/18 9:30 AM 3:30 PM CPR/First Aid/AED G. Dyer Hesp. Lib.
Tue, 10/02/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Understanding Guardianship B. Cowley ULV
Tue, 10/02/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Emotional Child Abuse  M. Gomez Oak Hills
Wed, 10/03/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Compassion Fatigue for Parents  V. Montero  Hesp. Lib.
Thu, 10/04/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Creating Family Rules and Enforcing Consequences E. Rivera MCLB
Thu, 10/04/18 6:00 PM 9:00 PM Role of the Foster Parent K. Carter EC 
Fri, 10/05/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Co-Parenting and Foster Care S. Lee ULV
Sat, 10/06/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Parenting a Child with Learning Disabilities E. Rivera CTE
Sat, 10/06/18 9:30 AM 3:30 PM Parenting a Child of Abuse and/or Neglect  V. Montero VV Church
Sat, 10/06/18 9:30 AM 3:30 PM STD's: What you Need to Know  M. Gomez Hesp. Lib.
Mon, 10/08/18 8:30 AM 11:30 AM Autismo E. Rivera HUSD
Mon, 10/08/18 10:00 AM 12:00 PM LGBTQ and More  V. Montero HH
Tue, 10/09/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Life Skills B. Cowley ULV
Tue, 10/09/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Different Learning Styles  M. Gomez Oak Hills
Wed, 10/10/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM Rules and Consequences E. Rivera NH
Thu, 10/11/18 9:30 AM 11:30 AM Sudden Infant Death Syndrome Dr. Sanders EHRC
Thu, 10/11/18 6:00 PM 9:00 PM Self-Injury K. Carter EC 
Fri, 10/12/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Foster Care to Adoption: How it Works  S. Lee ULV
Sat, 10/13/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Reactive Attachment Disorder (RAD) K. Carter EC 
Sat, 10/13/18 9:30 AM 3:30 PM Adoptive Toolbox  V. Montero VV Church
Tue, 10/16/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Child Development in Teen's B. Cowley ULV
Tue, 10/16/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Bipolar Disorder in Children  M. Gomez Oak Hills
Tue, 10/16/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM Teens and STD's  (TEENS WELCOME) V. Montero VV Church
Wed, 10/17/18 11:00 AM 1:00 PM Teen Parenting Dynamics B. Cowley TYS
Thu, 10/18/18 9:30 AM 11:30 AM Dysfunctional Families/Unhealthy Relationships Dr. Sanders EHRC
Thu, 10/18/18 6:00 PM 8:00 PM Encouraging Positive Behaviors  V. Montero AV Church
Thu, 10/18/18 6:00 PM 9:00 PM The Ripple Effect K. Carter EC 
Fri, 10/19/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Foster Parent Burn Out  S. Lee ULV
Sat, 10/20/18 9:30 AM 3:30 PM CPR/First Aid/AED  (SPANISH) M. Zaragoza Hesp. Lib.
Mon, 10/22/18 8:30 AM 11:30 AM Ayudar a los niños a lidiar con el estrés E. Rivera HUSD
Tue, 10/23/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Being Culturally Responsive E. Rivera CTE
Tue, 10/23/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Safe Guard Your Child's Identity  B. Cowley ULV
Tue, 10/23/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Impact of Domestic Violence on Children and Young Adults M. Gomez Oak Hills
Wed, 10/24/18 11:00 AM 1:00 PM Teen Parenting Dynamics B. Cowley TYS
Wed, 10/24/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM FA's and Drug Affected Babies  V. Montero VV Church
Thu, 10/25/18 9:30 AM 11:30 AM Safe Surrender Dr. Sanders EHRC
Thu, 10/25/18 6:00 PM 9:00 PM LGBTQ K. Carter EC 
Fri, 10/26/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Cultural Sensitivity: A learned experience  S. Lee ULV
Sat, 10/27/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Bullying K. Carter EC 
Sat, 10/27/18 2:00 PM 5:00 PM Fatherhood Engagement Dr. Sanders FARE
Mon, 10/29/18 8:30 AM 11:30 AM Reglas y consecuencias E. Rivera HUSD
Mon, 10/29/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM Crianza exitosa E. Rivera Foursquare
Tue, 10/30/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Teen Stress and Self Esteem B. Cowley ULV
Tue, 10/30/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Panic Disorder in Children M. Gomez Oak Hills
Thu, 11/01/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Helping Children Overcome Anxiety E. Rivera MCLB
Thu, 11/01/18 6:00 PM 9:00 PM Trauma Informed Care  K. Carter EC 
Fri, 11/02/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Sexual Behaviors in Foster Children  S. Lee ULV
Sat, 11/03/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Crisis Intervention  K. Carter EC 
Sat, 11/03/18 9:30 AM 3:30 PM Emancipation/ILP/Transitioning Kids M. Gomez Hesp. Lib.
Mon, 11/05/18 8:30 AM 11:30 AM Satisfacer las necesidades emocionales de un niño durante las transiciones y ajustes E. Rivera HUSD
Mon, 11/05/18 10:00 AM 12:00 PM Caring for a Traumatized Child  V. Montero HH
Tue, 11/06/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Addiction: the effects on children B. Cowley ULV
Tue, 11/06/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Brain Development and Learned Behaviors  M. Gomez Oak Hills
Thu, 11/08/18 9:30 AM 11:30 AM Suicide Prevention in Children  Dr. Sanders EHRC
Tue, 11/13/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Autism Spectrum Disorders  E. Rivera CTE
Tue, 11/13/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Foster Forward B. Cowley ULV
Tue, 11/13/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Bullying and Self Esteem  M. Gomez Oak Hills
Wed, 11/14/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM Successful Parenting  E. Rivera NH
Thu, 11/15/18 9:30 AM 11:30 PM Internet Safety: Protecting our Children  Dr. Sanders EHRC
Thu, 11/15/18 6:00 PM 8:00 PM When Children Don't Like the Sound of NO V. Montero AV Church
Thu, 11/15/18 6:00 PM 9:00 PM Emancipation/ILP/Transitioning Kids K.Carter EC 
Fri, 11/16/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Attachment Parenting  S.Lee ULV
Sat, 11/17/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Core Practice Model K.Carter EC 
Sat, 11/17/18 9:30 AM 3:30 PM 1,2,3 Magic  V. Montero VV Church
Sat, 11/17/18 2:00 PM 5:00 PM Anxiety in Young Children  M. Gomez FARE
Tue, 11/27/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Anger Management for Kids B. Cowley ULV
Tue, 11/27/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Learning Disabilities and Disorders  M. Gomez Oak Hills
Tue, 11/27/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM Teen Dating & Violence (TEENS WELCOME)  V. Montero VV Church
Wed, 11/28/18 11:00 AM 1:00 PM LGBTQ Dynamics B. Cowley TYS
Wed, 11/28/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children: Identification and Awareness M. Gomez Hesp.Lib.
Wed, 11/28/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM Self Harming Behaviors  V. Montero VV Church
Thu, 11/29/18 9:30 AM 11:30 AM Helping Children Deal with Grief and Loss  Dr. Sanders EHRC
Thu, 11/29/18 6:00 PM 9:00 PM Teen Talk: Brids and Bees K. Carter EC 
Fri, 11/30/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Making Healthy Choices : A Guide on Psychotropic Medications  S. Lee ULV
Sat, 12/01/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Meeting the Needs of Hard to Place Minors  K. Carter EC 
Sat, 12/01/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Guiding Children with ADHD/ADD E. Rivera CTE
Sat, 12/01/18 9:30 AM 3:30 PM The Sexualized Child in Foster Care V. Montero VV Church
Mon, 12/03/18 8:30 AM 11:30 AM Refuerzo positivo y disciplina E. Rivera HUSD
Tue, 12/04/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Embracing LGBTQ Youth B. Cowley ULV
Tue, 12/04/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Eating Disorders  M. Gomez Oak Hills
Wed, 12/05/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Alcohol and Drugs: How children are affected M. Gomez Hesp.Lib.
Thu, 12/06/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM Substance Exposed Infants  E. Rivera MCLB
Thu, 12/06/18 6:00 PM 9:00 PM Domestic Violence: How it Affects Children  K.  Carter EC 
Fri, 12/07/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Seeing the World through the Lens of Trauma S. Lee ULV
Sat, 12/08/18 9:00 AM 12:00 PM What to do with Behavior Issues K. Carter EC 
Sat, 12/08/18 9:30 AM 3:30 PM Understanding Anxiety and Depression V. Montero VV Church
Mon, 12/10/18 8:30 AM 11:30 AM Cómo el trauma afecta el cerebro, el comportamiento y el aprendizaje  E. Rivera HUSD
Mon, 12/10/18 10:00 AM 12:00 PM Birds and Bees Talk  V. Montero HH
Tue, 12/11/18 5:00 PM 8:00 PM Autism Spectrum Disorders  M. Gomez Oak Hills
Tue, 12/11/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM Grief and Loss V. Montero VV Church
Wed, 12/12/18 6:00 PM 9:00 PM Reactive Attachment Disorder (RAD) V. Montero TYS
Wed, 12/12/18 5:30 PM 8:30 PM Parenting Goals Worth Achieving E. Rivera NH
Thu, 12/13/18 9:30 AM 12:30 PM Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children: Identification and Awareness Dr. Sanders EHRC
Thu, 12/13/18 6:00 PM 8:00 PM Importance of Family Meetings  V. Montero AV Church
Locations
*AV- United in Christ- 13580 Nomwaket Ave, Apple Valley, CA 92307    
* CTE- BCC Career Technical Education- CTE Building- 1501 State Street, Barstow, CA 92311
*EC- Entreprenuerial Resource Center- 1041 W. Main St., Barstow, CA 92311    
* EHRC - Evans-Harvey Resource Center- 222 East Main Street Suite 215, Barstow, CA 92311  
* F.A.R.E.- Fostercare And Relative Emphasis Association- 9565 C Avenue, Unit M, Hesperia, CA 92345  
*Foursquare- Hispanic Foursquare Church of Barstow- 165 W. Grace St., Barstow, CA 92311  
*HH - Helping Hands Kinship Support Services- 16519 Victor Street Suite 404, Victorville, CA 92395  
* Hesp. Lib. - Hesperia Library- 9650 7th Ave, Hesperia, CA 92345    
*HUSD - HUSD Resource and Parent Center- 15776 Main St. Ste 8, Hesperia, CA 92345  
*MCLB- Family Advocacy Program (FAP)- Desert Housing Community Ctr- 363 Cape Glouchester, Barstow, CA 92311
*NH- New Hope Village- 100 W. Fredricks, Barstow, CA 92311    
*Oak Hills- Mesquite Hills Elementary 13884 Mesquite St. Oak Hills, CA 92344    
*TYS- Trinity Youth Services- 10755 Apple Valley Rd Apple Valley, CA 92308    
*ULV - University of Laverne- 15447 Anacapa Rd, Suite 100, Victorville, CA 92392   
*VV Church- (St Joan of Arc Catholic Church) 15512 6th St. Victorville Ca 92395    
         
Office Open Monday-Friday (hours vary from 8am to 6pm)
Please Note: Classes that do not have pre-registered participants may not be held. FKCE HIGHLY suggests bringing someone  
with you to class in order to ensure the class being held. Topics, dates and times - subject to change without notice.  
Please pre-register by phone (760) 252-2411 x7276 or x7376 or email fkce@barstow.edu
***Please do not bring children to class, childcare is not provided. ***

 



2700 Barstow Road • Barstow, California 92311 • PHONE 760.252.2411 • FAX 760.252.1875 • TTY 760.252.6759
Copyright 2014 Barstow Community College. All Rights Reserved.